Bacon Complete!

The bacon is complete!
I had tossed it in the oven at 200°F for about 90 minutes – maybe it was 2 hours… not quite sure – until the internal temperature was about 145°F.

Then I let it cool for a bit. At this point you can start slicing it and frying it or you can put it in the fridge to use during the week or toss it in the freezer.

 

I learned some valuable things from this experiment.
I had followed the Youtube instructions on how to make this particular recipe of bacon and instead of completing the curing process at 3-4 hours, I opted to wait 3 days before washing off the salt. Big mistake.
The curing of the bacon was complete at 3 hours… I was still a little unsure and that uncertainty made my bacon quite salty.
To offset the saltiness, I have to blanch the bacon for a few seconds and then fry it to remove a bit of the saltiness. Otherwise, it is wonderful bacon! I will make it to the proper specifications next time though.

For a another good recipe for homemade bacon, check out this website here, I will try this one next time!

 

Leave a Reply

